#TeamNutriBulletInspired

Emotions that ran through my mind when I got the acceptance email from Nutribullet for their 2016 LA Marathon training team:

  1. Excitement: I made it! I’m going to run another marathon! All my hard work on the applications paid off!
  2. Relief: I can finally stop checking my email every two minutes to see if I made the team.
  3. Terror: Holy crap, I’m going to run another marathon. What if I can’t train well enough? What if I get injured?

I’d like to thank my anxiety disorder for ripping me through all three of those in quick succession, but I’m trying to focus on the positivity of the first two and reassure myself that I have A LOT OF training days left until the marathon, and that I don’t have to run a marathon RIGHT NOW.

Although it sounds easy, applying to the team was a big step. Several things have happened in the past few years that have been a huge drag on my emotional and physical energy, and my running has suffered. Everything from nutrition to sleep went downhill, and I was just trying to make it from one day to the next. Applying for this team was not only a huge leap of faith that my circumstances have changed, but it was also an affirmation to myself that I want my circumstances to stay changed. I want to be working towards exciting goals again, and I want to be living a life that is balanced (whatever that looks like), well fueled, and healthy.

We’ll see how it goes! Our first workout is September 19…I’m going to try and keep training smart and not panic and increase my mileage beyond what I can do at this point. I’m really looking forward to the next 6 months.

One thought on “#TeamNutriBulletInspired

Leave a Reply

